Keepers of the Light
Three miles offshore, as seen from the windows of The Great Room, sits a quaint little lighthouse upon on a small, distant island. The crisp white walls and vivid red roof are a striking contrast to the rugged stone and aggressive shoreline it’s perched upon.
Whether framed by a grey sky or a blazing sunset, this sweet old structure draws attention and so it should. The tiny property, although seemingly subtle in its presence, serves as the beacon for all those entering Templar Channel, leading to Clayoquot Sound.
|Lennard Island was named after Edward Barrett-Lennard of the Thames Yacht Club in England, famous for his 1860’s circumnavigation of Vancouver Island in his yacht.
In 1903, 10 acres of the island were cleared to make way for the new lighthouse location. One year later, the building materials arrived and the new light was operational by November 1st, 1904.
In 1968 the wooden octagonal tower was replaced by a fiberglass one, which arrived by helicopter and dropped into place. Situated 35ft above the high water mark, the lantern extends an additional 80 feet from its base, from which a light shines for 21 miles. The outbuildings surrounding the pillar serve as storage and dwellings for the light keeper & Canadian Coast Guard.
The keepers of the light have many tales to tell. Check out the links below for some fascinating stories and imagery of old and new.
http://www.lighthousefriends.com/light.asp?ID=1198 < Chrome Browser Required
Annual Report of the Department of Marine, various years.
Keepers of the Light, Donald Graham, 1985.